Planet Z

Scope Community
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 2:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: MUBACO V - unchanged release-version 1
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
MuBaCo V is getting close to its final beta stage...
I post this version to give you a first impression of this beautiful device. Functionality works the way it should, but there is still lot to do with some layout-things.

IMPORTANT!!!!!!!

- put files 1, 2, f1, f2, sc2, sc, tc1b in your DSP-folder:
Otherwise MuBaCo will not work.

- don't forget to try the different band-saturation-modes

- 12db filters are not so easy to handle so I put them on the experimental side as an additional feature


=> band-saturation and other features need serious DSP. Turn off when using small cards. There is no guaranty MuBaCo will work properly on small cards regarding phase issues. I tested it on a 15 DSP card!


I have tested MuBaCo carefully and found it very usefull in my everyday-work. With the new surface it's not 100% finished, but I couldn't hold it back any longer.
As with all my devices, there is no guaranty for anything. Consider them as experimental beta-stuff.
Work with them on your own risk.

MuBaCo is free, you may give it for free to your friends, but you are not allowed to take any money for it or distribute it widely.

If you find MuBaCo gives you a value that's worth some money, please SUPPORT THE SCOPE PLATFORM, SC and the 3rd Party developers by spending money on some new devices by them or a new SCOPE-card !!!!

1000000 Thanks for the new supercool surface by PIXELBITES.

Presets will follow.


EDIT:
- sorry shrooms, I was short on time, so there are just some preset-corrections & a roughly added manip-area, but I'll correct all this graphical mess soon ;) ... it looks great anyway ;)
- I still have to work on some updates with the handling of my dsp-folder-modules, so this may take some time. Listen carefully, when you reload a sound ! It might change in some cases... sorry

29.06.
- starts with better preset
- small improvements on surface

01.07. NOW THIS THING ROCKS !!! & I call it decent too
- with an extra button you can "send" the actual values if the dsp-modules are not correctly adressed by the presets. That's not a 'normal' procedure, I know, but for the sound and flexibility of mubaco it's worth it. Hit that button (which is on three places where it can be easily reached) only every time after you activate tubestuff, softknee or 12db filters... or you load a preset changing those things & sound represents reliably your settings

- even the 12db filters now seem to be lot more handy (when you set the right freq-shift settings)

- I couldn't find a real bug for some time now and I have a big presetlist (just to get some quick impressions) here & will send it soon, maybe tomorrow so it will be more easy to explore it's possibilities

01.07. Version 0.91 - now with AVUP-technology
- O.K. This stupid value-sender isn't necessary anymore..., I left it, on the outer shell, if there appear any problems. A small red light shows when values are updated after loading a new DSP-module

- IMPORTANT: use the new included DSP-files - otherwise the automatic-value-update-process (AVUP-technology ;) ) won't work!!

0.912 tube-type included in AVUP

Presets added

- renamed 0.912 to Version 1 as there have been no bug reports & I worked with this thing in several sessions without problems.


Attachments:
presets.zip [5.75 KiB]
Downloaded 868 times
File comment: Version 0.912 is release-version 1! No further bugs reported. Major additions may come with V2...
MuBaCo_0.912.zip [1.29 MiB]
Downloaded 1057 times
MuBaCo_V.jpg
MuBaCo_V.jpg [ 154.48 KiB | Viewed 6330 times ]


Last edited by MCCY on Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:50 pm, edited 13 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 1394
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
juhuuuuu 8)

santa claus was coming, too! :-D

I will try it this weekend!

eerrmm, what do you mean with "too big"?

- the size of the gui?
- does it no more fit on a single dsp?
- or just the reduced lookahead?
- too big sounding? :eek:

And now, who does the GUI? muSHROOMZy, are you around? ;-)

thanx and hoo-hoo-hooo
Roman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
Too big for delaytimes... = lookahead.
I'm curious what you say about its sound. It's very difficult to compare, cause it's not easy to find "default" settings.
It's by far not as intuitive as Optimaster with its wizard function. It can do some nice things to sound, but it also may weaken it with weak settings.

Yes, Pixelbites are working on a gui, but we will finish the circuit this time before adding a nice surface.

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 8651
Location: Netherlands
good luck, it's promissing :-)
you could try to 'copy' some presets of the Optimaster... :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 917
Location: Italy
Ahahaha, lol, I've just made a 3 way crossover with inserts in the modular and now I've found this! Thank you Martin, this 5 ways is more useful! :-)

P.s.: What is that freq-shift knob intended for?

_________________
Welcome to the dawning of a new empire


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
freq-shift-knob:
Freqencies are overlapping at the crossovers, so there is a possibility to slightly change the way they overlap. I had a good feeling with values slightly below 1.

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 12:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
MUBACO V sat+
is a saturation-monster. If you don't need the drive knob this version is useless for you, cause it needs serious DSP!

Martin


Last edited by MCCY on Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
MOBACO V sat+ extreme is an experiment. I think this needs a big SCOPE card on position 1.


Last edited by MCCY on Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
Btw.: Made some phase tests with it. You can put through a mono-signal on both stereo-ins and inverted mix it on the outs => absolute cancellation! Wonderful!

So now it is proven: I use the same dynamic algos on l&r :lol:
No, it's a first reliable sign that L&R are beautifully "in time" concerning sampledelays etc. when not using the inserts! This is something very nice & important for such a big MUBACO!

have fun with it

Martin

With the moster versions you're nearly able to kill any dynamic in music ;) This is what we all wanted, isn't it? I hate dynamic music :P
Without joking: I made some serous progressions with my SCOPE knowledge and I should be able to build a very nice MASTERING-LIMITER (an even better version of my wonderful "XL") soon & with some work I will get MUBACO softknee!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 12:00 am
Posts: 353
Location: Cologne - Germany
GREAT NEWS!!!
Keep up the good work!
Cheers,
Jan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 6:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 8651
Location: Netherlands
MCCYRANO wrote:
So now it is proven: I use the same dynamic algos on l&r :lol:

:lol:
(but don't forget the color...).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
now ultra :D
just experimenting... NOW it's clearer what it's for ... ;)


Last edited by MCCY on Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 12:00 am
Posts: 2042
Location: Germany, Augsburg
MCCYRANO wrote:
MOBACO V sat+ extreme is an experiment. I think this needs a big SCOPE card on position 1.


you are right. does not work over here. :evil:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
Ultra, not extreme & lighter
should work on "normal" scope systems now (don't know, if it fits on 3-4 dsp-cards)

Martin


Last edited by MCCY on Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
lighter on DSP...


Last edited by MCCY on Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 1:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 1394
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
heeeelp!! i can't keep pace with you martin! :eek:

what do you mean, which version should i try. i have 30 break horse power, errm no, dsp's ;-)

cheerz
Roman


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
Try the first & last.
The first is relatively light on dsp (I could make it lighter, but without saturation then), the last is a good compromise (it's more saturated than the first) and I like the Ultra - thing. I could make a pure Ultra-version too ;)
O.K. this is what I meant with "semimodular": There is a way to really take things from DSP, but this will cost time and I want to be sure what I want before I implement such mechanism (like in "FI_SH").

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 5669
Location: The Blue Shadows
So, are you going with 4 or 5 bands on this Martin? I got the feeling that you might have preffered 4?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 1185
Location: Germany
I miss some user-feedback here... I'm personally happy with both (all) versions, but as noone comments I don't know what should be developed further. I think we should do both versions with some semi-modular possibilities for sat & ultra.. Of course this will take some time. Maybe some weeks, maybe some days till I find the time to work on it again.

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 1394
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
sorry, no feedback from my side till now... was f**ing busy the last few days. you know, the all year i-have-to-do-this-before-xmas is holding me back from my daw. but this evening i'll have a look at it, at least at the 5 band version.

greez
roman


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group